About Us

In continuous encouragement of Mr. Barin Roy, founder member of Photographic Association of Dum Dum, The Photographic Society of Murshidabad was established in 1962 by a group of enthusiast photographer under the leadership of Mr. Mrinal Gupta. Mr. Rajballav Dhar was another key photo artist of the society, who had allowed his state-of-the-art darkroom for photographic practice of the members. At that time, this was the only photographic organisation in the District level of West Bengal. The vision & mission of the society was to promote & practice photographic art in the district having strong cultural background. The society flourished with ample support of  Photographic Association of Dum Dum and successfully conducted consecutive six nos. of All India salon in print as well as slide format from 1963 to 1968. Mr. Dilip Kumar Bhattacharya was the main architect for these success. Notable photo artists Mr. P. N. Mehra, EFIAP, ARPS, APSA, Mr. Benu Sen, EFIAP, ARPS and Mr. Subroto Roy, EFIAP, ARPS were the honourable judges for those salons. With time activities of the society gradually reduced to a minimal due to subsequent losses of key members.


Now, the society is trying to regain its glorious past with advice/support of renowned photographic personnel, and founder members of the society through several activities and awareness program.  It is our pride that members of the society namely, Mr. Partha Sarathi Dhar, EFIAP, FFIP, AIIPC, Mr. Bibhuti Bhusan Nandi, EFIAP, FFIP, Mr. Bhaskar Sur, Mr. Shibu Bhusan Das, EFIAP etc. have already grabbed numbers of National as well as International (FIAP, PSA etc.) awards/medals/ribbons in recent past. Dr. Suniti Kumar Mandal retired Associate Professor and popular science writer has been doing photography since 1970 and wrote articles on photography including Photomicrography published in 2010 in Jubilee Viewfinder volume as part of Golden Jubilee celebration of FIP (1953-2003).  The society has now decided to organise members exhibition (to celebrate World Photography Day), introduce photgraphic workshop and also host international photographic salon to aware, educate and promote photographic art among the enthusiast and photo loving people of the district.


Advisory Board

1. Mr. Malay Sengupta,

    retd. Chief Justice, Sikkim High Court.

2. Prof. Biswatosh Sengupta,

    Photographic Association of Dum Dum.

3. Mr. Mrinal Gupta,

    retd. Joint Director, Information & Cultural

    Affairs Dept., Govt. of W.B.


Executive Body

President :

Prof. Dr. Suniti Kumar Mandal


General Secretary :

Mr. Shibu Bhusan Das, EFIAP


Treasurer :

Mr. Partha Sarathi Dhar, EFIAP, FFIP, AIIPC


Executive Members :

Prof. Dr. Indrani Datta, Mr. Bhaskar Sur,

Mr. Sudipta Ghosh & Mr. Animesh Ghosh


Co-opted Member :

Mr. Bibhuti Bhusan Nandi, EFIAP, FFIP & Mr. Susavan Das


Others of the Family:

Mr. Animesh Chakraborty, Mr. Amit Roy, Mr. Aniruddha Mukherjee, Mr. Arunava Dey, Mr. Asif Iqbal, Mr. Chandan Das, Mr. Debarshi Biswas, Dr. Gautam Biswas, Mr. Goutam Pramanik, Mr. Koustoov Bandyopadhyay, Mr. Krishnendu Singha Roy, Dr. Mainak Ghosh, Mr. Nirmal Majumdar, Mr. Palash Banerjee, Mr. Pradip Mallick, Mr. Rajdip Saha, Mr. Ranjan Singh, Mr. Sandip Banerjee, Mr. Sandip Kundu, Mr. Santanu Biswas, Mr. Satyaki Bhattacharyya, Mr. Sayantan Ghosh, Mr. Soumik Chattopadhyay, Mr. Somnath Biswas, Mr. Sourav Mondal, Smt. Sreenanda Sarkar, Mr. Subhadip Pal, Dr. Subhendu Biswas, Mr. Subir Das, Mr. Subrata Pal, Mr. Suman Sarkar, Mr. Trilokesh Roy & Mr. Uttam Kumar Basak.


Copyright © Photographic Society of Murshidabad 2014 - 2017.

Website developed & maintained by Photographic Society of Murshidabad